Ammonite
Running Time:
120mins
Genre:
Drama
Director:
Francis Lee
Starring:
Gemma Jones, Alec Secareanu, Fiona Shaw, James McArdle, Kate Winslet, Saoirse Ronan
Censor advice:
strong sex
Synopsis:
In 1800s England, acclaimed but unrecognized fossil hunter Mary Anning (Kate Winslet) works alone on the rugged Southern coastline. With the days of her famed discoveries behind her, she now searches for common fossils to sell to tourists to support herself and her ailing mother. When a wealthy visitor entrusts Mary with the care of his wife Charlotte Murchison (Saoirse Ronan), she cannot afford to turn his offer down. Proud and relentlessly passionate about her work, Mary initially clashes with her unwelcome guest, but despite the distance between their social class and personalities, an intense bond begins to develop, compelling the two women to determine the true nature of their relationship.
Synopsis:
In 1800s England, acclaimed but unrecognized fossil hunter Mary Anning (Kate Winslet) works alone on the rugged Southern coastline. With the days of her famed discoveries behind her, she now searches for common fossils to sell to tourists to support herself and her ailing mother. When a wealthy visitor entrusts Mary with the care of his wife Charlotte Murchison (Saoirse Ronan), she cannot afford to turn his offer down. Proud and relentlessly passionate about her work, Mary initially clashes with her unwelcome guest, but despite the distance between their social class and personalities, an intense bond begins to develop, compelling the two women to determine the true nature of their relationship.
Showtimes: click on time to book tickets.
Fri 21 May
Sat 22 May
Sun 23 May
Mon 24 May
Tue 25 May
Wed 26 May
Thu 27 May
Fri 28 May
Sat 29 May
Sun 30 May
Tue 1 Jun
Wed 2 Jun
Back To Listings